On getting back in the kitchen.

February 3, 2010

I cooked for about 10 people every day for nine months. I cooked vegetables I grew and cows that I knew. It was hectic and beautiful and rewarding. When I interned in the kitchen of one of my favorite restaraunts, cooking for countless New Yorkers, I felt like I was going to puke the whole time.  I thought maybe I was supposed to go to culinary school, but I hated the insane pace and lack of personal connection to the diners that I felt.

I hate cooking for myself. It is part and parcel of my inner social animal that wants to be adored for perfect meals and ever-flowing wine. But, I am not in the perfect living situation for impromtu dinner parties, and I had some Bok Choy that was about to call it quits, so I cooked. I loved the silky mouth-feel on the ground beef, and the inner snap to the carrots.

You never know when cute girls are going to come over, drink whiskey, dance, and love on your leftovers.

Ginger Beef with Baby Bokchoy:

1/2 pound pasture fed ground beef (some thinly sliced steak would be better)

4 or so baby bok choy

an inch of grated ginger

2 garlic cloves

1 small onion

zest of 1 orange

sesame oil

soy sauce

handful of big carrot pieces (i hate overcooked carrots, so i cut them huge)

quinoa

Brown the beef up and ditch some of the oil. Add the onions and the carrots. Add some soy sauce, ginger, garlic, and orange zest. Put the bok choy on top with the lid on to steam a minute. Serve it up with some quinoa. (I always add some veg. stock to mine.)

Leave a Reply

