Pasta Provencal + Zombies.

June 14, 2010

Sometimes I tell myself that i’m too busy to cook. I tell myself to  just make a crummy half a sandwich, blast out the door, and eat it in the car. But that feels awful. There’s no romance, or celebration when you are eating tomatoes on bread in the driver’s seat. I was confronted by this quandry as my favorite Chrissy and I were rushing to get dressed as Zombies for the ballerest Zombie Beach Party in Philly. We needed to eat something substantial to prep our zombellies for booze, and we didn’t want to eat a bunch of fatty brains on the dance floor.

I looked in the fridge, super uninspired, and just before I lamed out and reached for sandwich fixins, I spotted some good whole wheat pasta in the pantry. I boiled the pasta as I pushed Chris out the back door to pick fresh basil in zombie makeup, as I rounded up the rest of the goods. This is one of those easy, cheap, recipes made with ingredients you always have in the cupboard. It felt a lot nicer to share a real meal with him as we drew scars and scabs on eacheother than handing him a hobo sandwich. We ate the pasta room temperature, but i’m sure it would be great cold out of the fridge.

Recipe:

1/2 box whole wheat pasta (we used capellini)

2 super ripe tomotoes (halved cherries would have been perfect)

1 big lemon

1 can good oil packed tuna (would be awesome with anchovies as well)

big handful of fresh basil

1/4 cup capers or super salty olives

2-3 tablespoons of good olive oil.

salt and pepper red pepper flakes

While the pasta boils, get choppin. Drain the tuna pretty well, but it doesn’t have to be 100%, the more oil you leave, the more tuna flavor the pasta has. Drain the pasta, leaving it a little wet to help build the sauce. Toss the chunked tuna, capers, tomatoes, basil, and lemon juice and olive oil in with the pasta. Season up with salt and pepper, and plenty of red pepper flakes. GET BUSY!

Leave a Reply

