Collard Green Wontons!

July 6, 2010

I am one of those cooks that sees 1 ingredient, gets the creative spark going, and then cannot rest until I make the recipe I have brewing in my head. Upon seeing these amazingly fan-sized collard greens from my favorite farmer’s market vendor/grower I knew I needed to use them to wrap up some kind of delicious filling.

BINGO, I had some ground pork and ginger waiting to be cooked up.

These could easily be vegetarian, but they weren’t. But you can make them vegetarian if you want! This is another recipe that was awesome to make a bunch and then have at work all week for lunchin’ on. 

Oh man! I had all these brilliant photos of these, but my roommate (read: mom) accidently deleted them because she’s not so much with the technology. But here’s a video of Chris being really into them. (Chris is my most favorite test-taster) You can hear my roommate coaxing him to say “mmmm”, but ignore that. 

You needs:

7 or 8 big old fresh collard greens

1/4 pound ground pork

1/2 block firm tofu

3 diced carrots

1 diced red onion

3 celery stalks, diced

1 bunch cilantro

2 inches fresh ginger, grated

3 garlic cloves grated

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup siracha

1. Blanche (Deveroux) those greens! Cut out the big fibrous main vein, but don’t put a whole in the leaf.

2. Let those bubbies cool, and start chopping and sautéing all the rest of the goods.  (Start with the pork, ginger, and garlic.)

3. Let the filling cool. (I am so not patient.)

4. Put a few tablespoons of your filling mixture towards the right side of the collard wrapper, and wrap it like an egg roll or little burrito! 

5. Steam them in a bamboo steamer, packed in there tightly. They seal right up! And it will soften the collards just a little more.

6. FALL IN LIKE WITH THEM.

2 Responses to “Collard Green Wontons!”

  1. Shannon said

    “Gettin funky on the mike like an old batch of collard greens” -Snoop Dog

  2. Linda said

    Had the collard green wontons. They were amazing.

Leave a Reply

