Bounty!

July 12, 2010

 

Real food is coming out of my garden.  

I am in love with each one of these itty sungolds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to be totally honest with you, I hate cooking when i’m hot.

But here’s a few really good salad dressing recipes. You make your own salad dressing, don’t you? (What kind, tell me!) I get so flustered/infuriated in the salad dressing aisle by the insane calorie counts and nonsense ingredients.

So I make my own in an effort to save myself from a grocery-store freak out. 

Go-To Dressing:

1/4 cup olive oil

1/8 cup good vinegar

1 heaping tablespoon good mustard

juice of 1 half a lemon

salt/pepper/fresh greek oregano 

Put it together and shake it, kids. The mustard emulsifies the regularly repelling oil and vinegar, and on good homegrown or market-bought lettuce and tomatoes, it’s all you need.

 

Go-To Slaw Dressing: OMG I LOVE SLAWS. This is my dressin’.

1 cup plain yogurt

1 inch grated ginger

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon sesame oil

scallions

siracha!

One Response to “Bounty!”

  1. Liz said

    girl, i just made a cucumber salad that had me and my new roomie going “hellz yeah!”

    buncha freshly picked cukes, 5 or 6
    1 onion, white or yellow
    1 cup of water
    1 cup of rice vinegar
    1/2 cup of sugar
    2 T brown miso
    a couple dollops of garlic chili sauce
    sesame seeds
    fistful of fresh dill
    ginger, fresh or grated

    thinly slice cukes and pop them into a big pyrex bowl, add chopped onion ( I also added a left over tomato and an anaheim pepper from the garden.

    boil together water, vinegar, sugar, and miso. dump boiling mixture over veggies, add seeds, chili sauce and ginger. snip up dill and toss it in. give it a good mix and let it chill, covered for over an hour. oh hells yes. save excess juices as salad dressing.

    (oh. and i tipped in a little bit of dill pickle juice, just for a little oomph.)

Leave a Reply

