I BAKED A CRUST. FROM SCRATCH. BUTTER!

July 31, 2010

Goat Cheese, Zucchini, and Heirloom Tomato Galette

(adapted from Smitten Kitten)

I don’t bake. Ever.

I am intimidated by the precise measuring, cooling, gentle mixing, and rolling. Seriously. Also, I have hot hands. Handling buttery dough, fondant, anything gives me the anxiety. Will it stick? Will it rise? Is it cool enough? Will it Burn? I fear the unknown.

But then I saw this; and my mind started whirring, and it was all I could think about for 48 hours. I had a windowsill full of ripe tomatoes ( which is reminding me that I need to get prepped for jarring, which is reminding me that I want to start collecting mason jars.)

So I psyched myself up, rolled up my sleeves, bought measuring equipment and a pastry blender, and got loco on some dough. It was actually kind of fun. 

I followed this recipe as closely as my ADD-self could muster for the crust, but I switched up the filling like so:

1/2 cup goat cheese

1/4 cup parmesan

1/4 cup mozzarella

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cloves garlic

 

Leave a Reply

