Salsa!

August 5, 2010

Nothing says summer like fresh salsa.

I had a huge bowl of sungolds staring at me. I wanted to make something that would honor their sweetness and color. I kept trying to think of ways to cook them, and then I realized that my favorite way to eat them is raw, popped right off the vine into my mouth. This, combined with the fact that I saw Husk Cherries at the farmer’s market, had me thinking a sweet and spicy salsa would be the ideal fate of these little guys.

(I am obsessssed with Husk Cherries – they are sweet, and come in their own little parchment-like gift wrapping)

This involves a good half hour of prep work, chopping and slicing, which after a long day in front of a computer, is the perfect wind-down for me.

Black Bean Sun Gold Salsa:

1 pound cherry tomatoes

1/4 pound husk cherries (if you can’t find these, maybe try a little bit of pineapple)

1 red pepper, diced

1 small white onion, diced

3 cloves garlic

bunch of cilantro

can black beans, rinsed and drained

juice of 2 limes

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 jalepenos, seeded, deveined, and diced

cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper to taste

One Response to “Salsa!”

  1. yummybooks said

    you are just too rad. yeah i’m commenting 26 seconds after you posted this.

Leave a Reply

