On Warming Houses.

September 10, 2010

I love the idea of housewarming parties and housewarming gifts.  I really pride myself on being a good gift-giver, there is some primal Beowolfian hospitality gene deep inside me. I think that maybe this was maybe one of the best gifts i’ve ever given.

It all started when Chrissy Hensel, long time pal, fake band mate, and lover (not really) moved into probably the most amazing apartment in Atlantic Highlands overlooking the inlet and the New York Skyline.

I wanted to get him something really warm and welcoming but still masculine and fun.

Then I found these puppies at a garage sale:

Amazing vintage Tom Collins glasses with rattan wrappers! They were perfect. And they came with a big huge pitcher. But these alone do not make the perfect gift. You know what does? A FUCKING MINT JULEP KIT!

So I bought some good bourbon, made some simple syrup, got some mint, and made the trek to the love with cast iron skillet and fresh farm beef (more on this later). 

I made a fake-out Bouef Bourgignon with heaps of fresh veggies and rosemary. I served it with an arugula and chard salad over creamy polenta. It was plate scrapin’ good.

 

Chris really liked his gift and (especially after 2 bottles of wine, much dancing, and sleeping 3 to a bed) I think we really warmed his new place up. 

One Response to “On Warming Houses.”

  1. Regina said

    Whats your fake beef bourg recipe? do tell…

Leave a Reply

