On Rub

March 17, 2011

Boner.

Being as into snacks as I am prompts people to ask me some version of the, “What’s your favorite food?” question. I never really know what to say. I usually say, “Good, crusty bread.”

But this weekend I think I figured out my favorite bite. It’s one part spicy smoky pork, one part vinegary sweet barbecue sauce, one part crisp, creamy slaw. That’s it for me. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that my favorite meal is quintessentially American. I have always been such an America-nerd. Barbeque is part-and-parcel of the westward moving, get outside, rugged individualist (think about how prized secret, separate BBQ sauces/rub recipes are!), abundant, Thorea marrow-sucking American identity. I want to listen to fucking Bruce Springsteen when I eat this.

I think I found the perfect pulled pork rub.

I cooked this 5 1/2 lb pork shoulder in the oven, as the makeshift smoker we rig in the Weber grill is currently shed-ridden. I cooked it on low, around 300 degrees for about 5 hours. It was totally perfect. Seriously. Get on this.

 

Rub It!

RUB THIS ON STUFF

3 tbs sea salt

3 tbs fresh ground chipotle

2 tbs cracked black pepper

2 tbs garlic powder

1 tbs ground ginger

1 tbs dried mustard

1 tbs paprika

It is smoky and a little spicy. The spice enlightens pork with a nice fat content. I’m obsessed.

Whole House Smells Like Pork and Chipotle

Boner.

Yes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

