On Meat, and A Lack Thereof

May 7, 2011

I eat meat. And I enjoy it.

However, I think that I misrepresent just how much meat I eat on this blog. That’s because when I do eat meat, it’s for a celebration, or an elaborate Sunday dinner, and those are the ones that make it up here, because they are special and well-planned.

I have lots of vegetarian friends, and lots of vegetarian friends that read this. I was a vegetarian for a long time, myself.

(See, i’m a good liberal! I have VEGETARIAN FRIENDS.)

I have a particularly awesome vegetarian friend, who has in passing sent me messages saying things like, “That sounds delicious enough for me to suspend being vegetarian for a day”, and “I just wish I wasn’t a vegetarian so I could benefit from your foodie ways”. This makes me feel squirmy because I don’t see myself as a very serious carnivore, and I wouldn’t want to portray myself as one. (I recently figured out that my spirit animal is an egg.) I don’t think meals need meat to be substantial or delicious.

So, this recipe for quinoa squash boats goes out to all y’all veg-heads. You might notice the filling is similar to another quinoa post, but just ignore that, ok? I whipped this up for dinner last night, and drank some badass Chablis with it. It was springy and lemony, creamy and crunchy, and really really nice.

Quinoa Stuffed Squash

You NEED:

3 summer squash (I can’t wait to make this as hors d’œuvre with my garden’s little patty pan)

1 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed

1/4 cup goat cheese

juice of 1 1/2 lemons

1 tablespoon herbs de provence

1 carrot, diced

1 pepper, diced

1/2 onion, diced

2 handfuls kale, minced

1 tablespoon good French mustard

1 1/2 tablespoons butter

1/4 cup good bread crumbs

1. Boil your quinoa with a pad of butter half the herbs de provence, cook until a little al dente, as you don’t want to mangle it when you toss with other ingredients.

2. Sautee all of your veg until almost cooked through, keep a little bit of bite there.


3. Toss finished quinoa with the sauteed veg, goat cheese juice of 1 lemon, mustard, remaining herbs, and salt and pepper to taste.


4. Cut squash in half lengthwise, and scrape out seedy center with a little spoon.

5. Fill those babies UP with your quinoa filling.

6. Melt butter, and combine with bread crumbs. Season with a teaspoon of lemon zest, salt and pepper. Sprinkle over squash.

7. Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, until brown on top. Finish with fresh lemon.



One Response to “On Meat, and A Lack Thereof”

  1. With Care said

    I can’t wait to make this!

Leave a Reply

