On Bourbon

November 23, 2011

Bourbon is pretty much always on my mind (and breath).

But even more so lately. I saw Joan Didion at the New York Public Library this week, and in fur lined snow boots she spoke about the way that a glass of bourbon “loosens her up” enough to edit, to really “mark up a day’s page or writing”. Similarly, one glass of bourbon while cooking helps me loosen up enough to not take myself too seriously, to edit (read:ignore) recipes. 4 bourbons loosen me up enough to dance and  send (unedited) drunk texts.

My good friend Matt and I had a great ongoing conversation about bourbon this week.

He shares my affinity for brown liquor, Spring Lounge, and Faces.

He blogs about jams at Every Day, Another Song, and was awesome enough to make me a BOURBON DRINKING PLAYLIST.

So because I am thankful for all of you, I am sharing it, along with the recipe for a Maple Pumpkin Old Fashioned,                                                            which I will be drinking so hard  on Turkey Day.

Get on these!

To make the pumpkin infused bourbon:

  1 bottle of bourbon

1/2 cup of pumpkin puree

1 tsp each of : Ceylon cinnamon, ground ginger, and nutmeg

Infuse in a  mason jar for 48 hours. Filter through a coffee filter for a clear finished product.

Maple Pumpkin Old Fashioned

2 oz pumpkin infused bourbon

2 dashes of bitters (I am using Fee Brothers Cranberry Bitters)

1 oz maple syrup

splash of water

Shake it! Serve over ice with brandied cherries and a peel of orange .

Leave a Reply

