Long Time, No See

July 10, 2012

It’s been a while, I know.

But, i’m back.

It was a long winter, aye? I am just starting to feel able to cook and talk about food again, after an intense semester of full time food-school and work.

Things I did while on hiatus:

– spent a lot of time on commuter trains and buses, which lead to

– moved back to New York City, into a neighborhood that’s super new to me

– realized it’s probably for the best that I didn’t go to business school

– spent a few days working on a farm in Staten Island

– saw a fair amount of shows. Some great (Tune-Yards, Quadron, Holy Ghost, Destroyer) some not so great (SBTRKT, Washed Out)

– committed to growing my hair back, started wearing red lipstick in a meaningful way

Image– ate a few special meals

1. celebratory promotion dinner at The Dutch (oysters, rabbit pot pie, french fries, champagne)

2. excellent friend dinner at La Silhouette (Fluke carpaccio with salmon roe and dashi, sweet breads, lamb)

3. first meal of official summer at Bahr’s (lobster roll, corn on the cob, root beer)

– covered a The Great Googa Mooga for Food is the New Rock at which I ate and drank and danced and met my maybe my favorite living musician, James Murphy,

and felt incredibly drunk-portant. (You should listen to the new Food is the New Rock podcast.)

Image

– spent almost every Sunday from December til May hungover in a library study room

– started drinking beer again

– rode bikes around Key West and went to a drag show with my dad

– upped my dinner party game

– started reading novels and poetry again

– stopped buying so much shit

– fell in love with the East River Ferry, watermelon cocktails, religious plates, red jeans, and Downton Abbey

– decided what I want to be when I grow up (now to figure out where)

– started referring to my late twenties as The Briney Years

That’s it in a nutshell.  For the summer? Stay tuned for me working away, swimming, liberating shirts of their sleeves and pants of their legs, eating so many peaches, camp cooking, freckling, etc.

One Response to “Long Time, No See”

  1. ” started referring to my late twenties as The Briney Years

    That’s it in a nutshell. For the summer? Stay tuned for me liberating shirts of their sleeves and pants of their legs”

    Hahaha so good.

Leave a Reply

