Oh, hey.

September 20, 2014


Oh, hey.

Yeah, it’s been a while.  You know how it goes. So many things happened! Like, the worst winter of my life! Seriously, that shit was whack.

But, the spring and summer were better.

I moved! To a great little railroad apartment in the still Polish part of Greenpoint. I immediately ripped apart the entire tiny kitchen and reorder it to my liking. It’s sunny and small.

imageimage_1

 

image_11

I ate a lot of good food. Some that I made. Some that my friends made. Not a lot that stranger’s made. I ate this food on the beach and on lakes and around my new dining room table. Some that a private chef made while he listened to a table full of women talk serious trash. My best friend got married and I catered cocktails and sides for a hundred people.

image_2

image_6

image_7

image_8

image_9

image_10

image_12

image_15

image_16

image_18

I started taking care of myself. Like, seriously. I finally figured out that my love of swimming translates into real physical activity. I started swimming laps at a public pool overwhich the sun rose. I’m starting to get neck muscles. I’m drinking less and sleeping more. I’m working with a nutritionist. After six months of feeling so, so bad, i’ve started to feel so, so good. And if i’m being honest, it’s the first time in my life that it doesn’t feel like a phase.

As the summer ended I moved the laps indoors to a beautiful 1920’s bath house. My best mornings involve a swim, a Blue Bottle coffee, and a ferry ride across the East River. I will be able to swim a mile by next summer, mark my chlorinated words.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

One Response to “Oh, hey.”

  1. Liz F. said

    Swimming is a cold weather activity for me…because my public pool has a sauna and sometimes you just need that. Any racing suit suggestions?

Leave a Reply

